Manchester, my city

Manchester
my city-like-no-other
she’s like a friend to me
she waits with me
laughs with me
love her or not
she may outrun you
even before
she’s done with you
some will fall
dancing their end

my city has those people
who live in their shoes
arriving at her breast
nothing left to lose
people in transit
to a better life
and as if they’ve planned it
they learn to live with her
they learn to adore her
come what may

my city lives her own life
her nights never still
days obeying the laws of
the treadmill
rhythm and pace
and even as we run
she ignores our race
Manchester
in the sun
or ignoring the rain
her face is the same
with me she is one
for richer or poorer
through days I’m her brother
in the night she’s my lover
my city-like-no-other

Leave a Reply

